Montini Bronco Football

The Home of the 6x IHSA State Champions

2012 IHSA Class 5A State Champions

The expectation for the 2012 season was the the Broncos would continue their winning ways and pull off a “4-peat,” following in the footsteps of schools like Mount Carmel, Joliet Catholic, and long-time nemesis Driscoll. The 2012 season began with an exciting game at Palatine on the night Coach Andriano was inducted into his alma mater’s hall of fame. Despite blowing a 21-0 lead, Montini rallied to tie the game and won in overtime 40-37. Montini finished 7-2 for the third consecutive year, but lost the SCC Blue crown to Marian Central for the second season in a row. Montini defeated Bremen High School 54-13 in the first round of the playoffs and hosted Sycamore in the second round. The game was scoreless at halftime, and a back-and-fourth second half saw the Broncos trailing 22-21 in the final minute before a field goal with one second left gave the Broncos a 24-22 win and a chance for revenge against Marian Central in the quarterfinals.

With the entire Montini community mourning the loss of sophomore football player Johnny Weiger, who passed away during the week leading up to the game, the Broncos played perhaps the most emotional game in program history. Trailing 14-0 early, the Broncos rode the support of their fans to an eventual 42-27 win, with senior Mark Gorogianis rushing for 240 yards and a school record five touchdowns. Montini then faced Joliet Catholic in a semifinal match-up at Joliet Memorial Stadium, where the Hilltoppers were 7-0 in semifinal games in their history. These two teams played another instant classic, as the Broncos rallied from a halftime deficit to score a late touchdown and win 40-37 to keep their hopes of a “4-peat” alive. Montini’s opponent in the Class 5A championship game would be the Morris Redskins, who could not find a way to break Montini’s defense as the Broncos prevailed 19-6 to capture their fourth consecutive state championship. Joey Borsellino was selected as the SCC Offensive Player of the Year and was named all-conference along with Gorogianis, Andrew Harte, Fred Beaugard, and Tate Briggs.


08/24 @ Palatine–W 40-37 (OT)

08/31 vs. Lincoln-Way East–L 20-14

09/7 vs. Wheaton Academy–W 35-0

09/14 @ St. Francis at College of DuPage–W 28-7

09/21 vs. Marmion–W 30-22

09/29 @ Immaculate Conception–W 49-0

10/5 @ Marian Central Catholic–L 49-24

10/12 vs. Aurora Christian–W 31-27

10/19 vs. Aurora Central Catholic–W 38-7

10/27 vs. Bremen–W 54-13

11/3 vs. Sycamore–W 24-22

11/10 vs. Marian Central Catholic–W 42-27

11/17 vs. Joliet Catholic Academy–W 40-37

11/24 vs. Morris at Memorial Stadium–W 19-6

%d bloggers like this: